Amaya Space Pty (Ltd) is backed by an exceptional group of young South African researchers, technicians and engineers. Our talent pipeline is continuously being fed by the Space Programs at CPUT, ensuring that the brightest young minds get exposure to this exceptional new industry.

Our board of Directors consists of Siyabonga Copiso, Thandi Mgwebi (Chairwoman), Robert van Zyl, Lee Annamalai and Louw Barnardt.

Siyabonga Copiso

Siyabonga joins Amaya Space as its first CEO. He brings a wealth of experience having contributed to the local space industry for more than 10 years. Until recently, he worked for the South African National Space Agency where he was responsible for the space industry development, including the growth of SMEs.

Robert van Zyl

Robert is the head of Amaya’s space research, innovation, and technical products.

He has been involved in CubeSat technology for close to a decade. He is the Director of the Africa Space Innovation Centre and the Head of Space Science and Technology at CPUT.

Lee Annamalai

Lee is an industry authority that gives strategic direction to the Amaya board.

He has an extensive leadership background at  CSIR focused on Space Technology and Smart Systems. He is an experienced entrepreneur and has previously served on the SANSA board.

Lee Amaya Space Board Of Directors

Louw Barnardt

Louw heads up Finance at Amaya Space.

He is a SAICA Top 35 under 35 Chartered Accountant and entrepreneur. Louw founded OCFO, a finance advisory firm that specialises in scaling up technology companies.

Louw Amaya Space Board Of Directors


Amaya Space Logo White 2x